Help - Frequently Asked Questions
What is The Big Gift List?
Simply put, The Big Gift List is a free service that allows you to create and manage any number of gift lists (including your own private wish list) for any occasion you can think of, be it a Birthday, Christmas, Wedding or whatever you like. Each of your gift lists can have any number of items/products added to it, and by using the bookmarklet you can quickly add products directly from your favourite online store. Your lists can then be sent out to your family and friends who can in turn select and mark off items that they would like to get you.
What's the difference between a gift list and a wish list?
A gift list is a list that you create for a specific occasion and then invite friends and family to view the list and mark off items they would you to buy you. The wish list (you can only have one) is a private list where you can add items that you would like to get yourself, or, items that you would like to move to a gift list at a later date.
How do I invite people to see my list?
Once you've created a list and added a few items you can send out invites to family and friends. To do this simply go to the list you want to invite people to and click the 'Invitations' button on the right. You will be shown a list of all the people in your addressbook, people that are faded out have already been sent an invite to the list. If the list is empty there will be instructions on screen for sending your first invite.
I've been sent an invite to a list but it's not showing up?
The most common reason for this is the user sending you an invite has used an email address that is different to the one you signed up with, or they entered the email address incorrectly. If the former is the case you can add the additional email addresses you use to your profile. Log in as normal and click 'Edit Profile'. There you will find a text box allowing you to enter additional email addresses. Once you've added the address your friend used the list will become available.
What happens when someone selects an item on my list?
Firstly, you, the list creator, won't be able to tell. However, the people you've sent your list to will find the selected item is now hidden (unless you wanted more than 1 of that item). They can view the full list if they want to using a link to the right of the list, the taken items are then shown with 'Purchased' marked against them.
What is a 'bookmarklet'? Is there a browser plugin available?
A bookmarklet is a special link that you can add to your browsers toolbar that will allow you to add items directly from an online store. The bookmarklet is currently available for Microsoft Internet Explorer 7+, and Apple Safari 4+. A full featured Add-on/Extension/Plugin is available for FireFox, Opera and Google Chrome and can be accessed from the browsers plugin/extension store.
I've forgotten my password, help!
If you've forgotten your password you can use the 'Forgotten password?' link on the login page to create a new temporary password. Simply enter the email address you used when you registered with The Big Gift List and a new password and instructions will be emailed to you.
I'm trying to register but the website is saying my email address is already in use?
This means that someone else has added your email address to their profile as a secondary email account; in most case this is probably a family member. You will need to talk to them and ask them to remove your email address from their profile. They can do this by logging in to The Big Gift List and editing their 'Profile'. On this page they will find a text box listing all the email addresses they have assigned to their account, simply remove your email address from the list and click 'Update Profile'. You will then be able to sign up with your own account.
My Free Account says I can only have 1 active list, what does this mean?
With a free account you can have 1 list that is currently active and an unlimited number of archived lists. So, when you're current active list is finished you can 'archive' it (Archive button will display once the list has finished) or delete it, and then you can create a new list. Alternatively, you can upgrade to a premium account and unlock unlimited active lists. Premium accounts start from just £2 a year.
What happens when my premium subscription ends?
When your subscription expires your account will be downgraded to a free account and you will receive email notification. You can then renew your subscription if you like. If you have more than 1 active list when your subscription ends you will still be able to view all your lists but you will only be able to edit the first list that you created.